Stargates?

images (44)

By Alberto Pupo

They are after me. I knew I should not have done it, but for a woman, you end up doing just about anything. It was all supposed to be a wild lark, they were drunk and found themselves walking near that accursed facility. It was heavily guarded (or so I believed), every once in a while a drone would fly by just to make sure that everything was still in order. That is when she looked at me with her beautiful baby blues and told me how hot it would be if I would steal one of the Stargates. I laughed and thought she was just fucking around, but then her baby blues started to take a more serious appearance. She told me that if I wanted to experience a wild time tonight, she would show me just how flexible she really could be. So like an ass thinking with my second head, I stormed the gates… Amazingly enough, I found no resistance, no whatsoever, not even the cursory bored guard firing a warning laser blast. It is as if the universe wanted me to steal the Stargate… So what the hell is a Stargate anyway?   It is a series of handheld devices which allows the user to open a rip in the space-time continuum and choose any destination within the charted universe… The amazing thing about the Stargate is that it is very precise with location. Two years ago the “government” collected all Stargates around the Country after a few enterprising thieves used it to commit strings of robberies in three different galaxies (until the star gate failed them and they were caught).

Upon getting out of the facility I can see the way her eyes lit up, and I was ready for the time of my life… and then it happened she took me by surprise with a vicious right hook, I remember my world going black, and after being out for a brief time checking my pockets and it was gone… She took the stargate and ran, and then I heard the sounds of dogs in the distance, the gates of the facility are opening and my first instinct is to run.

So here we are, they are after me hot on my trail, I am hiding in the darkness looking for a way to explain myself out of this. I keep cursing the day I met Leila; she is beautiful, seductive, but terribly dangerous. I take out my communicator, see if maybe she will respond… but of course, upon calling her contact code, my device blinks with the obvious response she has disconnected her communicator. I can hear the footsteps growing louder, and m heart jumps every time I hear a loud crash. The songs are now barking louder and louder, the cover of darkness will soon fade away, and I will be caught like an idiot. Maybe I should contact someone to help me? Maybe I should contact my brother… and tell him that I need an extraction… but no… my brother is a high-level bureaucrat he will lose his job immediately if they discover that his fuck up baby brother stole a Stargate because of the prospect of a hot sexual encounter…I am running out of options and there is only one contact left, but he is not the reliable type. I am so screwed, and then a voice calls me out.

    “Alright, whoever is back there come out with your hands up.”

I have been discovered my heart is thumping and this is the end… I am about to turn myself in when a brilliant light appears before me, a gateway, I am about to run the other directions when a set of hands appears from out of nowhere pulling me through…

Leave a Reply

